AngajukKât, Inuit Community Corporation Chairs to be sworn in as members of the Nunatsiavut Assembly next week

Nunatsiavut President Johannes Lampe today congratulated all candidates who were successful in their elections yesterday for AngajukKâk in four Labrador Inuit communities, as well as the chair of the NunaKatiget Inuit Community Corporation in Happy Valley-Goose Bay/Mud Lake and the Sivunivut Inuit Community Corporation in North West River.

“It takes a tremendous amount of commitment and dedication to serve in public office, and I commend all successful candidates for taking on that challenge,” says President Lampe. “I also want to thank those who were not successful for putting their names forward, and to wish them all the best in whatever they do.”

The following will be sworn in as Members of the Nunatsiavut Assembly next week in Hopedale:
Nain Julius (Joe) Dicker (won by acclamation)
Hopedale Marjorie Flowers (incumbent)
Makkovik Winston Andersen
Postville Glen Sheppard
Rigolet Charlotte Wolfrey

Inuit Community Corporation Chairs
NunaKatiget (Happy Valley-Goose Bay/Mud Lake) Patricia Kemuksigak
Sivunivut (North West River) Maxene Winters