2021 Indigenous Business Awardees Announced

VANCOUVER – The Awardees of the thirteenth annual Indigenous Business Award (IBA)  were announced today by the BC Achievement Foundation, the program’s presenting  organization. The Awardees will be celebrated in a series of digital campaigns and films  honouring their achievements. 

“The Indigenous Business Award program recognizes and inspires business  achievement. This year in particular, the program also signifies hope as the economy  strengthens and diversifies. The Indigenous enterprises being recognized with an Indigenous Business Award provide new opportunities and stronger relationships, and  help make all of our communities more resilient, inclusive and prosperous,” said  foundation Chair, Anne Giardini. “Each year, the award program shows ways we can all  benefit from integrating the practices of the past with the economies of the future.” 

The IBA program was launched in 2008 to honour and celebrate business excellence and, in its 13th year, boasts over 200 remarkable businesses within its alumni. A total of  eight Indigenous businesses, entrepreneurs, partnership entities and community-owned  enterprises will be recognized from across the province of BC. 

Selection of the Awardees was made by members of the 2021 jury panel, which includes Jessie Ramsay, Leah George-Wilson and Jeff Ward. 

Jessie is Métis, a partner with Baker Newby Law in Chilliwack and sits on the board of  directors for Stölo Community Futures and Chilliwack Community Services. 

Jeff is the founder and CEO of Animikii and two-time IBA alumnus. He is Ojibwe and  Métis, originally from Manitoba, and now lives and works in Victoria, BC on Lekwungen  territory. 

Leah practises Indigenous Law with Miller Titerle + Company in Vancouver and is a  member and past Chief of the Tsleil-Waututh Nation. When she was Chief, Leah received  IBA recognition on behalf of community-owned businesses in Tsleil-Waututh. Currently,  pursuing a Master of Laws at UVIC, Leah is also an elected Co-Chair of the First Nations 

Summit, a Director on the Land Advisory Board and an appointed member of the First  Nations Health Council.  

The IBA program is presented by BC Achievement in partnership with the Ministry of  Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation, and is generously supported by: Title Sponsor  – TD Bank Group; Presenting Sponsor – Teck; Category Sponsors – BC Hydro, BC  Transit, CN, Enbridge, New Relationship Trust, Ovintiv Inc., Seaspan Shipyards and  Vancity; Supporting Sponsors – ANTCO, FASKEN, FortisBC, Shaw Business and  Vancouver Fraser Port Authority; and Media Sponsors – BIV, CFNR, First Nations Drum, Frog Radio, Global TV and Stir Magazine. 

BC Achievement is an independent foundation established in 2003 to celebrate  community service, arts, humanities and enterprise.  

Young Entrepreneur of the Year:  Elijah Mack-Stirling – Kekuli Cafe Merritt  

Business of the Year – one-to-two person enterprise:  Sisters Sage, Vancouver  

Business of the Year – three-to-ten person enterprise:  Indigenous Corporate Training Inc., Port Coquitlam  

Business of the Year – 11+ person enterprise: Tsawwassen Shuttles Inc., Tsawwassen  

Community-Owned Business of the Year – one entity:  Thunderbird RV Park & Cottage Resort, Campbell River 

Community-Owned Business of the Year – two or more entities: Gitmaxmak’ay Nisga’a Economic Development Corporation, Prince Rupert  

Business Partnership of the Year:  Salish Seas LP, North Vancouver  

Award of Distinction for Lifetime Achievement:  Ken Cameron, Moberly Lake

Detailed information about the award and a list of past awardees is posted on the  Foundation’s website.